Fourth Hektoen Grand Prix Essay Competition

Opportunity Type: 
Thursday, March 31, 2016 (All day)

Submit an essay of no more than 1,600 words in length by March 31, 2016, for the Fourth Hektoen Grand Prix Essay Competition. The winners will receive prizes of $1,500 and selected participants will have their articles published in Hektoen International.

Military Prize—on a medical topic related to wars and veterans.

Suggested subjects may include stories from the battlefield; tales of heroism; psychological effects of warfare and post-traumatic stress; history of wars; medical and scientific innovations arising from warfare; field hospitals and military hospitals; treatment of the wounded; paramedics and nurses in war; book reviews; and museums about the military.

One prize of $1,500 will be awarded.


General Prize—on any of the many other subjects currently featured in Hektoen International.

Suggested subjects may include medical education, cardiology, neurology, nursing, and doctors and their patients as well as topics in art, literature, history, and ethics as related to medicine. For a fuller list and examples, we encourage you to review Hektorama.

For the Famous Hospitals section, we welcome articles on the Charité of Berlin, the Allgemeines Krankenhaus of Vienna, and Bellevue Hospital of New York, as well as some of the other great hospitals of the world.

For the Physicians of Note section, we would particularly consider articles about Elizabeth Garrett Anderson, Asclepiades, Elizabeth Blackwell, Realdo Colombo, Paul Ehrlich, William Heberden, James B. Herrick, Thomas Hodgkin, Edward Jenner, Nikolai Korotkoff, William Osler, Irvine H. Page, James Paget, Ronald Ross, Benjamin Rush, Johann Schoenlein, and Ludwig Traube.

We would also encourage articles about the medical aspects of the lives of illustrious persons such as Jane Austen, Charlotte Bronte, John Calvin, Rosalba Carriera, Mary Cassat, Anton Chekhov, Winston Churchill, Emperor Claudius, Christopher Columbus, Oliver Cromwell, Marie Curie, Charles Darwin, Charles Dickens, Edward V, Artemisia Gentileschi, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Jean-Auguste-Dominique Ingres, Frida Kahlo, Lois Mailou, Masaccio, Cosimo di Medici, Michelangelo, Michel de Montaigne, Toni Morrison, Napoleon, Samuel Pepys, Marcel Proust, Sergei Rachmaninov, Rembrandt, Eleanor Roosevelt, Murasaki Shikibu, Tobias Smollett, Lawrence Stern, Amy Tan, Kara Walker, Virginia Woolf, and Rosalyn Sussman Yalow.

One prize of $1,500 will be awarded.